You're looking at an archived, read-only version of our old community forum. See our new community forum here.

Just in case anyone wants this...

Zhegan

I've only started playing guitar for about a month now, but before I started learning I made a diagram of all the notes on the guitar (up to the 24th frets) since I figured I'd be converting some Midi files into tabs manually down the road.

http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m152/Zhegan/GuitarNotes.jpg

Not sure if anyone needs it, but I figured I'd post it anyways in case anyone wanted something like this.

I'm pretty new to music so I'm not sure if it's 100% accurate, but I THINK it is.

Re: Just in case anyone wants this...

auriplane

Looks accurate to me! The only thing that seems at all odd to me is that octaves traditionally begin at C, not at A, but that's arbitrary and not terribly important.

I like the color coding on your chart. Coloring by octave is a cool idea! I can't use it because I'm a synaesthete and I get confused if notes are the wrong colors, but in fact I made my own charts for that reason. (I can deal with black and white, just not colors.) I actually made a "fake guitar" out of foamboard duct taped to a level, drawn on with magic markers, which serves as a chart I can practice on to quiz myself on where all the notes are. But I finally have the fretboard memorized ^-^ So I've been neglecting it.

Is your chart free to redistribute? Can I put it on my site if I ever get around to making a guitar/bass site like I want to? :-)

----------

Auriplane!!

Zhegan

Absolutely! Feel free to use the chart however you wish :). If you want me to I could change it so the octaves start at C, I still have the PSD file so changing it wouldn't take very long at all.

auriplane

Oh that would be cool :-)