You're looking at an archived, read-only version of our old community forum. See our new community forum here.

Learning by ear

kng

I'm pretty new to guitar and I want to learn song by ear, where and how should I start?

i guess you should start with

hashel

i guess you should start with slow simple melodies ?

----------

I do VGM covers and stuff at https://www.youtube.com/c/hashel

start with the band

wayfaerer

"Embrace your dreams."

start with the band rammstein. thats what everyone told me to do... only now, the only thing i can by ear is rammstein.

hash got it though, slower simpler melodies would doubtless be the best way to do it

----------

"i seem to be find a lot that apparently dont contain the .exe actually" -Anonymous

"Has anyone really been far as decided to use even go want to look more like?" -Pherioxus

punk rock. learn blink182

SalemJenet

punk rock.
learn blink182 songs or some other easy bands.

^^ mm hmm. those old three

wayfaerer

"Embrace your dreams."

^^

mm hmm. those old three chord bands man, thats where its at. nirvana songs are super easy to play. try their unplugged stuff, much easier to pick out, not as muddy i guess, plus nirvana live is amazing anyhow. alice in chains ahve some easy stuff too, as well as presidents of the USA. rammstein, godsmack, anything from the grunge scene or the punk rock scene like blink or sum 41. thast where the easiest stuff to do by ear is found imo.

----------

"i seem to be find a lot that apparently dont contain the .exe actually" -Anonymous

"Has anyone really been far as decided to use even go want to look more like?" -Pherioxus

I'd start with a song you

auriplane

I'd start with a song you know well, one with a strong melody, one you can sing (at least in your head, if not actually with vocal cords).

Ever sing along with the radio? Just do that, except with a guitar. Or heck, do both at once.