You're looking at an archived, read-only version of our old community forum. See our new community forum here.

What should I get next?

saihenjin

I'm actually very new to playing the guitar, I have an electric. It's a cheapo that came in a starter pack, came with amp, cords, tuner, etc. I'm gonna be coming across some money in july and was thinking about putting 120 down on a new amp, but I want something small, I live in an apartment building and the walls are thin, so I'd rather not get kicked out for playing out of a large speaker. The one I've got now is one of those tiny practice amps that you can power with a 9 volt battery, and that's a good volume for me right now.

I want to have a good selection of options on how to make the guitar sound, and I can spend as much as 250 or so on it if I really needed to. I don't know what other options or accessories are essential for guitar, though. I've thought about getting a Line 6 Pod, but I'm not sure.

In short, what piece of hardware should I buy or upgrade first?

Personally, I'd say go for

auriplane

Personally, I'd say go for the Line 6!

EDIT: To explain why, you'll get a lot more quality/versatility for the money. Buy an amp when you're going to play out somewhere, or when you've got a place to rehearse, IMO. You have to spend a bit of money to get a decent amp, and an amp is a huge part of your sound on an electric guitar.

Plus, if you're concerned about volume, you can use headphones to practice. Just don't break your ears by practicing with headphones set too loud :-)

----------

Auriplane!!

If you're getting a line 6,

CpxAzn

Lurker

If you're getting a line 6, I'd suggest you to get one of these
http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Line-6-GuitarPort-XT-Guitar-M...
http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Line-6-POD-Studio-GX-with-P...