You're looking at an archived, read-only version of our old community forum. See our new community forum here.

What happened??? A message from archard

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

It came to my attention recently that some users were being deleted from GameTabs for no apparent reason. That was my fault. You see, as part of my general plan for improving the site, I wanted to delete is many inactive accounts as I possibly could. There are many of them, more than 100,000 in fact. Most of them are due to spambot registrations. I developed a script which would automatically delete 500 inactive accounts every hour. I defined an inactive account as one where the user hadn't logged in for more than a year and hadn't made any posts. Unfortunately there was a bug in my script that deleted users who actually were not in active. So I was forced to restore the site to a backup that was made about a week ago. That's why there are currently missing tabs and posts. I will have to go back now and amend my script and make sure that it only deletes users who have truly been inactive. I did back up the database before I restored it to the backup from a week ago, so I do have all the have that were posted in the last week, and I will work to put them up as soon as possible. Sorry for the inconvenience this has caused.

The reason I wanted to remove all the inactive users is because it will make it easier for me to migrate the forum to Discourse, a modern, advanced forum that I think you guys will love and I hope will help revitalize this community. Unfortunately the current site is built on very old, very outdated software that is a real challenge to upgrade. But I'm on it! Stay tuned. Big upgrades are coming soon.

I am inactive but don't

TrangOul

Insomaniac

Location: Germany

Joined: Feb 24 2008

I am inactive but don't delete me! Pretty please. :]

I'm excited for upgrades! I

thedstring

Nate Brooks

Location: Utah

Joined: Jan 05 2011

I'm excited for upgrades! I love this site, but as a full stack web developer myself I can't help but wish for something more up to date when I come here =/

Ah I was wondering where some

a.christie.w

eren

Location: United Kingdom

Joined: May 17 2014

Ah I was wondering where some recent PM's had gone to

----------

what

All good sir it happens this

BigHeadClan

Joined: Jan 20 2012

All good sir it happens this is why we have backups! That said maybe load up a VM with a mirror of the site/server for testing instead of playing Russian roulette with the live version and potentially save yourself some headaches. :)

Re: I am inactive but don't

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

TrangOul said

I am inactive but don't delete me! Pretty please. :]

As long as you've made at least one post or comment, you won't be deleted :D

----------

DANG

Awww damn archard, you're

TrangOul

Insomaniac

Location: Germany

Joined: Feb 24 2008

Awww damn archard, you're from Boston?! We could have hung out when I was there last year. D:

Hah, I moved from Boston a

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

Hah, I moved from Boston a few years ago. Just haven't updated my profile. I'm from Maryland originally, but right now I live in Singapore.

----------

DANG

All, I've amended my script

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

All, I've amended my script and set in in motion again. Please let me know if you find anything out of the ordinary happen again. I really appreciate it.

dstring and BigHeadClan: I'm so not proud of the way I'm doing this. I'm a professional dev as well, and in a perfect world I'd have done everything the proper way. But right now my biggest constraint is time, having a full time job and family as my highest priorities. Getting the current site in a state where I could have a proper staging, testing, and deployment set up would be a very time consuming task that I question the value of. I'm hoping I can just power through the migration phase and then when everything's on stronger foundations I can start doing things the right way.

----------

DANG

Hah not a problem just had to

BigHeadClan

Joined: Jan 20 2012

Hah not a problem just had to bust your balls a bit :)

Edit: I missed the "I'll load

gudz

Location: Italy

Joined: Nov 14 2012

Edit: I missed the "I'll load everything again" part.
But if you'd rather have me submit my tab/recording I posted last days, just ask

Re: Edit: I missed the "I'll load

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

gudz said

Edit: I missed the "I'll load everything again" part.
But if you'd rather have me submit my tab/recording I posted last days, just ask

I would actually appreciate it if you'd resubmit it, if you wouldn't mind :)

----------

DANG

Re: Edit: I missed the "I'll load

gudz

Location: Italy

Joined: Nov 14 2012

No problem at all, tomorrow I'll do it :)

Thanks! Have deleted about

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

Thanks!

Have deleted about 40,000 users so far. Anyone notice anything unusual?

----------

DANG

Re: I am inactive but don't

Clanver

Pixelfingers cant play

Location: Germany, Kiel

Joined: Jan 03 2009

archard said

TrangOul said

I am inactive but don't delete me! Pretty please. :]

As long as you've made at least one post or comment, you won't be deleted :D

Man, take the chance, and force them to make releases O_O!

Re: I am inactive but don't

Clanver

Pixelfingers cant play

Location: Germany, Kiel

Joined: Jan 03 2009

oh my, did i just do a double post? Nah . . surely archard at fault here~

Holy shit! 40k users

thedstring

Nate Brooks

Location: Utah

Joined: Jan 05 2011

Holy shit! 40k users already?! That's insane!

Still Alive

hashel

Location: Liège (Belgium)

Joined: Mar 04 2008


Still Alive

----------

I do VGM covers and stuff at https://www.youtube.com/c/hashel

Re: Holy shit! 40k users

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

thedstring said

Holy shit! 40k users already?! That's insane!

The script kills 500 at a time, and it runs automatically every hour. I can also run it manually whenever I want, and have been doing so a lot the past few days ;)

----------

DANG

What to do?

MechaKrauser

Joined: Sep 04 2014

Hey archard, I've got a question. One of my tabs got caught in the rollback, so should I make a new submission post?

I took what you said in the first post as you had backed up the recently posted stuff so we wouldn't need to do anything. But you told gudz to go ahead and resubmit his. So does that apply to the rest of us with missing tabs and recordings and such? Just repost it?

Re: What to do?

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

MechaKrauser said

Hey archard, I've got a question. One of my tabs got caught in the rollback, so should I make a new submission post?

I took what you said in the first post as you had backed up the recently posted stuff so we wouldn't need to do anything. But you told gudz to go ahead and resubmit his. So does that apply to the rest of us with missing tabs and recordings and such? Just repost it?

Hey Mecha, sorry for the confusion. I do have the data backed up, but it's still inconvenient for me because I have to manually go into the backed up data and manually add it back myself. So, if you wouldn't mind just resubmitting everything you posted, I would definitely appreciate that. Otherwise it might be awhile before I take the time and manually re-submit everything myself.

----------

DANG

Gotcha.

MechaKrauser

Joined: Sep 04 2014

Gotcha. I'll repost then, no biggie ;)

Thanks! We're 100,000 deep

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

Thanks!

We're 100,000 deep people! 40k to go! :)

----------

DANG

Very nice Archard, after this

BigHeadClan

Joined: Jan 20 2012

Very nice Archard, after this phase of clean up is done whats next? Updating the security and new account authentication?

@Hashel Dammit man now you have that song stuck in my head, going to drive me insane until I can play through it tomorrow night.

I'm working on account

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

I'm working on account authentication now, and integrating that with the new forum. Once that's ready and we decide on the new forum structure. I will close this forum down and open up the new one :)

All the inactive accounts have been purged and my script will continue to run indefinitely so that they will continuously be cleaned up, indefinitely.

----------

DANG

HTTPS is also active now. Aww

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

HTTPS is also active now. Aww hellz yeah broz

----------

DANG

You've still got some

auriplane

Joined: Sep 06 2008

You've still got some straggler URLs left with http:// that my browser's complaining about, by the way.

----------

Auriplane!!

Yeah I know. If there is

archard

Joined: Jan 11 2007

Yeah I know. If there is content served from http on the page the browser won't consider it fully secure. Those will get cleaned up.

----------

DANG