You're looking at an archived, read-only version of our old community forum. See our new community forum here.

Classical guitar nails

Vic9mm

The Fingerstyle Mechanic

ok my job is very demanding on my hands so I tend to brake nails alot anybody have luck with any nail products rather it be fake nails, silk, polish , hardenr, finger picks, your secrets to healthy nails...etc anything will help.

Re: Classical guitar nails

yoshistrings

ヨッシー

Maybe cutting your fingernails? I've never heard of anyone breaking their nails picking before.

Vic9mm

The Fingerstyle Mechanic

i brake nails at work im a Diesel Mechanic not playing my guitar.

----------

Watch me: http://www.youtube.com/user/Vic9mm

yoshistrings

ヨッシー

oh lol :P In that case, I can't offer much advice.

mokshaingive

You could try out Dunlop finger and thumb picks. They are very durable however I think they are a little too long so I file the ends down a bit. Hope this helps!

----------

- Michael

Stamen47

no0bzOrG

I have a couple of suggestions that might help. First of all, try putting hand lotion on your nails and working it into the cuticles around your nail. If you do this regularly, your nails should get a nice healthy glow! Also, avoid saturating your nails with household cleaning products.

Second, the shape of the nail can make it more likely to break. If its longer, it's more likely to break. Also, if the tip of your nail has a corner, it's more likely to bend and break than if its rounded.

I tried a nail hardening solution once (I think it was Diamond Nails or something). I couldn't quite tell if it helped, but it made my nails really shiny like I'd had a manicure or put clear nail polish on it. Needless to say, I immediately stopped using it. You can try something like that out if you want, but I don't have any useful advice in that area.

----------

Is this the end of zombie Shakespeare?

Vic9mm

The Fingerstyle Mechanic