You're looking at an archived, read-only version of our old community forum. See our new community forum here.

Off the Edge of Despair (Final Fantasy VII)

Razmaniac

Joined: Aug 05 2010

Hey, guys. So my last tab didn't pan out, but I have a new tab that I believe is ready to be submitted. I thought I could put it here for some constructive criticism considering I did this in a matter of hours hyped up on Redbull one night.
(Updated)
GP5
MIDI

It should be noted that I had to be a bit liberal with my octaves at the end in order to make it possible. Also, i tabbed out the echo because the song just seemed empty without it.

Constructive criticism: Try

auriplane

Joined: Sep 06 2008

Constructive criticism:

Try it with two separate voices (ctrl-1 / ctrl-2. It's under edit > voices in the menu). Put the 0 2 0 3 in the second voice, and the melody in the first. That'll clean up your ties.

Personally I'd like it better without the echo. I'd maybe use an echo effect on the recording though :D

----------

Auriplane!!

I agree that splitting this

Razmaniac

Joined: Aug 05 2010

I agree that splitting this up into voices would clear up the ties, but this was made to be played on a single guitar, hence the tom foolery at the end with octaves and the capo. I would prefer to keep it all on one voice. I will remove the echo, though. Guitar is a hobby I picked up to keep me from going crazy at school. I play by myself to chill out and never record. As such I play and create all my tabs for one guitar.

Two voices still mean one

auriplane

Joined: Sep 06 2008

Two voices still mean one guitar :-)

EDIT: Here's an example of a tab with two voices, one guitar:

http://www.gametabs.net/plants-vs-zombies/daytime-in-front-yard

It's just to make the sheet music easier to read. It doesn't actually change anything. I think your tab is good! I didn't mean it should be on two guitars.

----------

Auriplane!!

Re: Two voices still mean one

Razmaniac

Joined: Aug 05 2010

I attempted what you suggested and found out that for the program I use (Tux Guitar), you need to use ctrl + numpad, which my laptop lacks. I have found how to change voices manually and will do that as soon as I get the time.

Ah, one of the nice things

auriplane

Joined: Sep 06 2008

Ah, one of the nice things about Tuxguitar is that you can change all the key bindings :-) (You can't change them on Guitar Pro, and a lot of them require a numpad on GP.)

It's not a big deal, BTW. Just a suggestion! A lot of tabs, like many of Kabuki's for example, don't necessarily do separate voices.

----------

Auriplane!!

I changed it to two voices

Razmaniac

Joined: Aug 05 2010

I changed it to two voices and removed the echo. Any other suggestions before I submit it?

Well, I went through and

auriplane

Joined: Sep 06 2008

Well, I went through and tried changing things that I would change. You can ignore all this of course, but here's what I ended up with:

http://auriplane.net/offchanged.gp5
http://auriplane.net/offchanged.pdf

(The second link is to show you what it looks like in Guitar Pro, in case anything's different in Tuxguitar)

Most of it, I just changed the rests (I'm not sure you can do the rests like that in TG). In measure 50, I made a real change: I moved that last note in the bassline back a note, and moved the 3 from the second voice to the first (where I felt it belonged). So, I had to change that 0 to a 5 on the next string. I think it sounds better though!

Measures 59-60, I moved the melody up a string. I just thought this was a little easier for me personally.

There were a couple other small things I changed (like two tied quarters into a half note, and I think I changed a quarter note to a whole note on the melody somewhere) but I forgot where.

Like I said you can ignore this if you want :-) I'm just trying to come up with stuff that *I* would do, and I'm not exactly the best arranger.

----------

Auriplane!!

Yeah, I was getting sick of

Razmaniac

Joined: Aug 05 2010

Yeah, I was getting sick of manually changing between voices by the end of the song, so there was bound to be a few errors. Everything looks good that you have done and you're right 59-60 are much easier to play a string higher. I think I'm ready to submit. I think I'm going to have to bite the bullet and buy guitar pro. I was having trouble with the rests and when I output the tab as ascii it doesn't maintain the rhythm. Quarter notes and eight notes have the same spacing.